DIY, Floral & Gardens, Interior Style

First Impressions

I have been planning for ages to paint my front door and rid it of the sticky green gloss that it has been since I moved in. It was dark, dank and didn’t make the most of the nice panelling and the style of the door (although in an ideal world it would be a stable door – and don’t think I haven’t considered cutting it in half). Knowing it was a bit of a job I procrastinated with the help of months and months of cold weather.

Image

However with a pending visit by a photographer this week, I decided it needed to be done pronto!

I have carefully chosen a colour that I know sits well with lush greens of my burgeoning shady woodland garden in the front (more about that in upcoming posts), while the fresh colour also tips its cap to the fact that we are by the sea. It is Celestial Blue by the Little Greene Paint Company  – a lovely heritage paint, very eco friendly and importantly for me, low in sheen.

And here is the result

Image

A lot more welcoming now don’t you think

Image

I was very thorough and I removed & replaced my beloved metal postbox….

Image

and painted my quirky kitchen window too

Image

bish bash bosh

I am just waiting for my scallop shaped door knocker to go up for that extra bit of seasidey-ness.

postscript

….Annd here it is!

doorKnocker

Standard

Leave a Reply

