Delicious, Floral & Gardens

Rhubarb Syrup

July, for me, is a month of parties, birthdays (mine), picnics and sitting enjoying the garden sipping refreshments of one sort or another. So last night, in an effort to deal with the abundance of rhubarb and also tapping into one of my favourite flavours, I made Rhubarb Syrup.

So while sitting here in the sun, sipping this beauty I will pass on inspiration…

Image

I simply melted 1.25Ib of sugar into 1.5 pints of boiling water, brought it down to a medium heat. I  grated a good chunk of fresh root ginger into the syrup and added a large bunch of rhubarb (scrubbed and sliced in to 2inch slices) and gently cooked the rhubarb until soft, I then left the mixture to completely cool down and for the flavours to infuse. When cooled, I sieved the liquid into a jug and poured into a sterilised bottle and some into a freezer bag as it freeezes well. You could also make ice cubes from it. The syrup in the bottle should keep in the fridge for a couple of weeks. oh and I have kept the rhubarb bits as a fresh jam to have in the fridge.

Image

What to do with it?

Well you can simply mix it with sparkling water or lemonade over ice for a good picnic drink…..

Drizzle it over ice cream or fruit salad…..

Add prosecco or champagne for a Rhubarb Bellini…

Mix with vodka and freshly squeezed lime juice for a Rhubarb Martini…

Mix with gin and lemon juice and tonic for a refreshing aperitif….

I am on the hunt now for some more vintage cocktail glasses & a shaker.

Drinks on the Terrace anyone?

Image

Standard

2 thoughts on “Rhubarb Syrup

  1. Hello Niahm, I found your site while trying to identify a tiny, delicate (wild?) geranium that just happened to showed up here in the garden years ago now (the one in your print is gorgeous and very close, but not quite the same as mine: ) Then of course, I started to meander about and had truly been enjoying your posts of family cake recipes; but this post, with its variations on Rhubarb syrup is wonderful! (Totally loving your vintage champagne glasses, btw) and such a variety of uses for this delightfully pink elixir: ) Thank you so much, now I’ve easily tripled the ways to use it (when I make it for the 2nd time) next spring. All of these years of naught but Rhubarb Crisp and pies… Such a shame; )

Leave a Reply

