Inspiration, Interior Style, Lifestyle

an Autumnal day at Ham House

Image

Having lived many years in Richmond, Southwest London, I was lucky enough to have a myriad of stunning buildings on my doorstep, one of them being the ever intriguing Jacobean Ham House on the river opposite Twickenham. I revisited the house the other day just as the Season was turning from late Summer to hints of Autumn and somehow the hues in the interior, as well as in the gardens, echoed this for me.

Image

Rusts and burnt sienna colours were in the bricks…

Image

soft green greys in the lavender

Image

the blue-purples of the damsons in the Kitchen Garden

As we went inside we passed the trompe l’oeils on either side of the entrance which now look like faded memory

Image

As I went around the rooms, the colours that had sung at me outside were evident in the fabrics and silk wallpapers in the darkened rooms. some have been restored – like this one. Glorious…

Image

I loved the warm gold details in the panelling

Image

I especially loved the picture lights

Image

detail of silk wall hanging

Image

Greys setting off golds and rich reds…Drama!

Image

One of my favourite rooms is the Green Closet with the finest collection of miniatures

you can see them all in detail on the National Trust’s website. I love the green silk backdrop. It wouldn’t be the same if it was just painted white would it?

Image

The flock wallpaper in the Duke’s Closet really caught my eye. What a colour! very now!

Image

Image

why I love darkened dining rooms… the table covered in white linen looks very inviting.

Image

a detail of the leather wallpaper

Image

the view of the front from the window

Image

Evidence of how inspired I was by these Autumnal colours can be seen in this rug made from recycled wool that I bought in the National Trust shop outside.Image

Autumn bring it on!

Standard

One thought on “an Autumnal day at Ham House

  1. Pingback: Colourful Copenhagen | niamh the printmaker

Leave a Reply

