DIY, Inspiration

Painting Stripes

I have these little wooden stools dotted all over my house  – very handy for reaching things or as a little shelf – I bought them years ago for peanuts and they have been painted many colours over the years. I have been doing a lot of redecorating lately. I am so in love with intelligent matt emulsion from Little Greene – it goes on beautifully to walls or woodwork leaving a gorgeous chalky finish that is quite hardy, so while I have the brushes out I start grabbing things about the house and painting them.

I repainted these stools and then decided to add a casual ticking stripe inspired by one of my favourite Rachel Barker mugs…..

Image

So I used an old plastic ruler as my guide and let the paint brush do its thing.

Image

Its ok to have the odd blob as it is the imperfections that make it I think!

2014-01-21 15.25.03

 

Stripey feathers from the beach on stripes..

Image

you could apply this to any piece of wooden furniture – if it is used a lot  – a coat of matt varnish on top might help

now why I can paint next………*scans room………

Standard

Leave a Reply

